DSM: Dollars, Sense & More

My lifestyle is a humble one. My clothes are primarily purchased at Target and TJ Maxx. I thrive on coffee, mediocre dining hall food and ramen. I live in a dorm room with three other women and share a bathroom with 15 more. While I would hardly consider myself the expert on coupon clipping and bargain shopping, discount prices get me through the week. I am an unemployed college student, I am practically penniless.

But discounted living is not just for the… financially challenged. We could all stand to save a buck here and there. So I, a thrifty-by-necessity college student, am offering my penny-hoarding services to you. I will be scouring the web and the great city of Des Moines, IA for the best prices, sales, and hole-in-the-wall places that will keep money in your pocket and a smile on your face. Because we both know that saving money is not just about locking money in the bank, it is about spending on worthwhile things.

Welcome to Dollars, Sense & More, your guide to inexpensive living in the Des Moines area. In the coming weeks I will test the limits of a 10-dollar budget. From decorating that one awkward white spot on your wall to filling your stomach with good, cheap food, I will attempt to do it all with less than 10 dollars a week.

See an entry that interests you? Start collecting your couch-change and mysterious back-pocket-dollars and join me. Let me know what you can find in the DSM area for less than 10 bucks, chances are good that I haven’t found it yet. After all, I am just a poverty-stricken, tightfisted journalism major with a ten-dollar bill and a mission.

Leave a Reply

