DIY Tied Tank Top: Fashion on a Budget

Although this blog goes beyond do-it-yourself projects, the vast majority of my traffic comes from my previously posted DIY Tank Top: Fashion on a Budget entry. It seems that the people of the internet are largely interested in ways to make new things without spending a dime, which makes sense to me. So, people of Pinterest (and the rest of the blogging world), I give you Fashion on a Budget Round 2! This time, I tried my hand at recreating a popular pin from my Dollars, Sense and More board.

_____________________________________________________________

Image

I was pretty excited by this pin, thinking that it was a DIY project similar to my last one. Unfortunately, when I followed the link, I got to a condescending little page that says something like “Oops! We couldn’t find that page, you big moron.”

So, being handy with an old t-shirt and a pair of scissors, I tried my hand at recreating it without any instructions. And, of course, I came up with my own instructions and a variation idea to pass on to you.

DIY Tie Shirt

Tools: T-shirt, scissors (the sharper the better), washable marker or pencil
_____________________________________________________________

Step 1: Because it was my first go at making a shirt like this, I used a lot of guidelines to keep me on track. Of course, you can adjust your markings as you see fit, but I put the shirt on and marked where I wanted the bottom to be first. (NOTE: It will be a little bit shorter than where you mark.) Then I marked the outside edge of the straps and the lowest point in the neck hole. I made the rest of the guidelines with the shirt on the table. Notice that my slit is exactly in the middle (folding the shirt in half helps) and it doesn’t go past the bottom markings.

_____________________________________________________________

Step 2: The markings on the back are a lot easier. Simply continue the markings from the front onto the back and mark the lowest point of the neck hole in the back.

_____________________________________________________________

Step 3: I cut the neck hole first. Starting inside the neck hole, cut along the shoulder seam to the inner strap marking. Then, cut from the inner strap marking and curve towards the lowest point in the neck hole. Stop at the lowest point.

_____________________________________________________________

Step 4: I like to fold the neck of the shirt in half so that I can use the cut curve as a template. It helps keep the neckline as symmetrical as possible.

_____________________________________________________________

Your neck hole should look something like this.

_____________________________________________________________

Now, flip your shirt over and repeat Steps 3 and 4 on the back.

_____________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________

Step 5: With the shirt face down, start cutting at the outer strap marking. Cut parallel to the sleeve seam and meet the armpit marking. I stayed roughly an inch away from the seam. Go ahead and make this cut on both sleeves. NOTE: Want a shirt that looks more like the featured image? Don’t cut off the sleeves.

_____________________________________________________________

Flip the shirt over and repeat Step 5 on the front side.

_____________________________________________________________

Your shirt should look something like this.

_____________________________________________________________

Step 6: Starting at the bottom of the slit marking, cut straight towards the bottom edge marking. Do this twice, so there is now a wide “V” cut into the bottom of your shirt.

_____________________________________________________________

Step 7: Flip the shirt over and cut straight across from one bottom edge marking to the other.

_____________________________________________________________

Step 8: Flip the shirt back over. Cut from the tip of the “V” along the slit marking until the top of the marking.

_____________________________________________________________

Step 9: Tie the two halves of the “V” in a basic knot.

_____________________________________________________________

Ta-da! Your old, unworn t-shirt is ready to wear in a new, trendy way. I’m a little wary about wearing shirts with too much midriff, but tie shirts are perfect with a pair of high-waisted pants or skirt. Of course, if you are blessed with a great set of abs, I’m sure you can rock it in just about anything. Here are a couple of ideas I found online.

Eva Mendes

Nadia Aboulhosn

_____________________________________________________________

I’d love to hear how your attempts turn out, especially if you come up with any other variations of the pattern. Best of luck and happy upcycling!

2 thoughts on “DIY Tied Tank Top: Fashion on a Budget

  1. Pingback: Curated Trends For DIY Fashion Beginners and Beyond

  2. I’m truly enjoying tthe design and layout of yor blog.

    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me
    to come here and visit more often. Diid yoou hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Great work!

Leave a Reply

